Research Faculty

Biomedical Sciences

Gary Rankin, PhD

Chair - Biomedical Sciences

Our mission is to serve the needs of the School of Medicine, the Huntington Tri-State community and West Virginia through excellence in research and teaching.

Piyali Dasgupta, PhD

Associate Professor

Beverly Delidow, PhD

Associate Professor

James Denvir, PhD

Associate Professor

Richard Egleton, PhD

Associate Professor/Research Cluster Coordinator

Lawrence Grover, PhD

Full Professor

Brandon Henderson, PhD

Assistant Professor

Jung Han Kim, PhD


Emine C. Koc, PhD

Associate Professor

Sandrine V. Pierre, PhD

Associate Investigator & Education Coordinator

Donald Primerano, PhD

Vice Chair of Biomedical Sciences; Professor/Director Genomics Core

Gary O. Rankin, PhD

Professor/Chair Biomedical Sciences

Travis B. Salisbury, PhD

Associate Professor

Nalini Santanam, PhD, MPH, FAHA

Professor & Research Cluster Coordinator

Maria A. Serrat, PhD

Associate Professor

Vincent Sollars, PhD

Director of the Flow Cytometry Core, Associate Professor

Monica Valentovic, PhD

Professor & Research Cluster Coordinator

Zijian Xie, PhD

Director, Marshall Institute of Interdisciplinary Research (MIIR)

Hongwei Yu, PhD

Professor & Research Cluster Coordinator

Clinical & Translational Science

Uma Sundaram, MD

Chair - Clinical & Translational Science

The Department of Clinical and Translational Science (DCTS) was created to foster collaboration and enrichment among clinicians and basic scientists. Permanent and joint-faculty work together within an integrated structure to advance research and therapy options for Central Appalachia.
DCTS is the academic home for the Appalachian Clinical Translational Science Institute (ACTSI) at Marshall University, the Marshall Clinical Research Center and Marshall Informatics that provides support and resources to researchers, clinicians and patient advocates working to improve the health of the people of Appalachia. This multidisciplinary department leverages a variety of expertise to address issues through the full spectrum of translational science.

Subha Arthur, PhD

Assistant Professor

Shelvy L. Campbell

Assistant Dean of Diversity

Alfred A. Cecchetti, PhD, MSc, MSc IS

Director, Division of Clinical Informatics (DCI)

Todd Davies, PhD

Director Research Development & Translation

Todd Gress, MD, MPH

Assistant Dean & Director Clinical Research

Isabel Larre', PhD

Assistant Professor, DCTS

Uma Sundaram, MD

Vice Dean, Chairman, DCTS

Yangling Yan, PhD

Assistant Professor