School of Medicine Coronavirus Update:
Read for more details specific to medical students and School of Medicine events.

Psychiatry Residency Program

Welcome to the Psychiatry Residency Program Website

Welcome to the Marshall Psychiatry Residency Program at the Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine!

We are a fully ACGME accredited psychiatry residency program, in an area with truly exceptional educational and clinical opportunities for the incoming psychiatry resident. Located in the beautiful river town of Huntington, West Virginia, the program has an amazing array of psychiatric care opportunities with enthusiastic, dedicated faculty, which will provide the psychiatry resident with exceptional training. This includes a 140-bed freestanding psychiatric hospital with wonderfully diverse specialty units, a West Virginia state hospital, a Veteran's Administration medical center, a private psychiatric unit in a multispecialty regional hospital, and more. Marshall University serves as a referral center for patients from more than 29 counties throughout West Virginia, eastern Kentucky, and southern Ohio.

The Psychiatry Residency Program is under the direction of the full-time psychiatry faculty of the Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine. Our training program is relatively small, with 4 residents per year, which results in a friendly, close-knit and cohesive group. In addition, Huntington, West Virginia is a well-kept secret as a most wonderful place to live. It's a college town, with friendly people, a fascinating history, and unparalleled outdoor recreational and leisure opportunities.

We, the entire faculty and staff of the Marshall Department of Psychiatry, are available to assist you in your educational endeavors. Please look over our website and let us know if you have any questions before you apply. We look forward to hearing from you!

Suzanne Holroyd, MD
Chairman & Residency Program Director

In The News

2019 Psychiatry Graduation Photos

Dr. Kristina Bryant-Melvin has been elected President-Elect for the West Virginia American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP), Dr. Kalpana Miriyala has been elected Membership Chair of WV ACAAP and psychiatry resident Dr. Erika Maynard a Delegate to WV ACAAP

Dr. Adam Schindzielorz elected to the AOA, the medical honor society

Faculty Achievement: Dr. Suzanne Holroyd

Classified Staff Council and Alumni Association team up for community project

As part of the #thankaresident events last week, and PGY1 Resident Dr. Morris won a gift basket.  Congratulations, Resident Dr. Morris!

Dr. Holroyd named to "America's Top Doctors"® list

Marshall University residency administrators earn national certification

Exciting News for our Program:  The ACGME Review Committee has approved our request for a permanent increase in resident complement from 16 to 24 effective 7/1/2019. This is very exciting news, and because of the timing, means that we will be matching six interns for the coming training year instead of four.

Our residents recently placed in the 61st percentile overall nationally on their annual Psychiatry Residency In Training Exam (PRITE)! Congratulations to our wonderful residents and faculty on a job well done!

Congratulations to our PGY4 Resident Dr. Kamal Patel for matching his first choice at the Sleep Medicine Fellowship Program at the Dartmouth-Hitchcock Sleep Disorders Center.

2018 Resident Graduation Photos

Announcing the Marshall Psychiatry Resident QA/QI research project entitled “Outcomes of Universal Screening for Suicidality in Medical Outpatient Clinics” has been selected as the winner of the American Psychiatric Association Area 5 Resident Fellow Poster Competition!! This is a huge honor and speaks to the quality of the research project. All PGY2, PGY3 and PGY4 psychiatry residents participated in this project which was also presented at the recent Marshall Research Day and the Marshall QA/QI Research Day.  Dr. Scott Murphy, as principal investigator on the study, received the award for the residents at the American Psychiatric Association meeting in May.

Congratulations to Dr. Kalpana Miriyala! Her research was featured on the recent APA Blog: “Teens and parents often differ in reporting on mental health symptoms.

Congratulating the following residents for exemplary performance on their recent PRITE! Receiving a PRITE Certificate of Achievement:  Resident Drs. Erika Maynard, Scott Murphy, and Jack Wang. Obtaining PRITE Honor Roll Status:  Resident Drs. Ashley Collins, Adam Schindzielorz, and Tiffany White.

Congratulations to the Marshall Team (Resident Drs. Ashley Collins (PGY3), Adam Schindzielorz (PGY3), D. Scott Murphy (PG4) and Faculty Mentor Dr. Kalpana Miriyala) for scoring above the average in their first year participating in the American Psychiatric Association’s MindGames’ competition!

2016 PRITE Performance:  Congratulations to Resident Drs. Scott Murphy and Adam Schindzielorz for scoring 100 points above their national peer group and receiving the PRITE Certificate of Achievement, and to and Resident Dr. Ashley Collins for scoring 50 points above the national peer group and attaining the PRITE Honor Roll status.

Dr. Kelly Melvin presents online Psychiatry Medical education curriculum at ADMSEP, a national education conference.

Congratulations to Gold Humanism Honor Society 2016 inductees, Dr. Kelly Melvin and Resident Dr. D. Scott Murphy.  The Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) comprises individuals who have been recognized for practicing patient-centered medical care by modeling the qualities of integrity, excellence, compassion, altruism, respect and empathy.

The Beginning of the Marshall Psychiatry Residency Program

Herald Dispatch Article on Match Day (3/21/2015)
Parthenon Article (6/18/2014)
Herald Dispatch (5/17/2014)