Institutional Biosafety Committee

Institutional Biosafety Committee

The Marshall University Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) was established to ensure a safe working environment for the conduct of biological and biomedical research. The IBC has been charged with overseeing all research and educational activities which pose a biological hazard. These activities include, but are not limited to, the safe handling and disposal of pathogenic organisms, recombinant DNA (rDNA) and infectious (biohazardous) waste.

For questions about biosafety, you may contact Don Primerano, IBC Chair, or Mark Buchanan, Biological Safety Officer,

Donald A. Primerano, PhD
Chair, Institutional Biosafety Committee

Tracy Smith
Environmental Health and Safety Department
Sorrell Building Room 103

Mark Buchanan
Chemical and Biological Safety Officer
MU Safety and Health

William D. McCumbee
Radiation Safety Office

Committee Members Department
Mark Buchanan Environmental Health and Safety
Bruce Day Office of Research Integrity
Jeremy McAleer School of Pharmacy
William McCumbee Pharmacology, Physiology and Toxicology
Donald Primerano, IBC Chair Biochemistry and Microbiology
Travis Salisbury Pharmacology, Physiology and Toxicology
Nalini Santanam Pharmacology, Physiology, and Toxicology
Chris Schlenker MU Research Corporation
Julia Schreiber Biochemistry and Microbiology
Vincent Sollars Biochemistry and Microbiology
Jagan Valluri Biological Sciences
Hongwei Yu Biochemistry and Microbiology
Ex Officio  
Tracy Smith Environmental Health and Safety
Non-MU Members  
Howard Aulick Community member
Anne Myers Community member
Dana Sutton Community member