Faculty Details

Joseph W. Werthammer, MD, FAAP




Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine


Joseph Werthammer, MD is Professor of the Department of Pediatrics at the Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine at Marshall University, where he also serves as Chief Medical Officer. He has been a member of the Division of Neonatal/Perinatal Medicine since its creation in 1976. Dr. Werthammer received his medical degree from West Virginia University School of Medicine, followed by a Pediatric Residency at the University of California at San Diego and a Neonatal/ Perinatal Medicine fellowship at Harvard University. A Huntington, WV native, Dr Werthammer returned home in 1976 and joined fellow Neonatology pioneer, Dr Gilbert Ratcliff, to create the 1st Neonatal Intensive Unit (NICU). Today, this NICU is one of only three Level III units in West Virginia, which encompasses emergency, critical, diagnostic and therapeutic care for premature babies or those born with special needs. Dr. Werthammer's clinical and research interests focus on assisted ventilation and control of breathing in the premature infant. In addition to his clinical interest in Neonatology, Dr. Werthammer has been involved in designing Academic Medicine and residency education programs for over 25 years and has collaborated in publishing multiple scientific articles.

Honors & Memberships

  • Fellow - American Academy of Pediatrics
  • Member - WV/Cabell County Medical Association


  • Certified: American Board of Pediatrics, subspecialty certification in Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine

Education & Training

  • Medical School: West Virginia University School of Medicine (Morgantown, W.Va.)
  • Residency: University of California, San Diego - Pediatrics (La Jolla, Calif.)
  • Fellowship: Harvard University - Neonatal/Perinatal Medicine (Cambridge, Mass.)