Marshall School of Medicine inducts new members to Gold Humanism Honor Society

Thursday, April 11, 2019
Sheanna M. Spence, Director of External Affairs, School of Medicine, 304-691-1639

Marshall School of Medicine inducts new members to Gold Humanism Honor Society

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. — The Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) inducted 15 new members during a ceremony April 9.

GHHS is a national honorary for those who demonstrate excellence in practicing patient-centered medical care through integrity, compassion, altruism, respect and empathy. Members are selected as third-year medical students. Residents, faculty and administrators may also be recognized for humanistic practice at various stages in their careers.

Members are nominated by their peers and selected by a committee composed of faculty, staff, clerkship directors and GHHS members. New inductees to the Marshall chapter include:


  • Gabriella Casinelli
  • Evan Childers
  • James Gainer
  • Dakota May
  • Marji McCoy
  • Lee Mendenhall
  • Alexandrine Ratnani
  • Preeya Shah
  • Wesley Wright


  • Casey Fitzpatrick, M.D. (Pediatrics)
  • Sukhmit Kaur, M.D. (Obstetrics and Gynecology)
  • Dipali Nemade, M.D. (Neurology)
  • Lauren Tufts, M.D. (Pediatrics)


  • Shannon L. Browning, R.Ph., M.D. (Internal Medicine)
  • Marc Hettlinger, M.D. (Internal Medicine)


GHHS is an international initiative of the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, a public, not-for-profit organization established in 1988 by Drs. Arnold and Sandra Gold, several colleagues at the Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons and community leaders.


Photo:  New Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) inductees at the Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine recite the GHHS oath April 9, 2019, during a ceremony at the Marshall University Memorial Student Center. 


Date Posted: Thursday, April 11, 2019