Marshall School of Medicine inducts new members into Gold Humanism Honor Society

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. — The Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) inducted 14 new members during a ceremony March 11.

GHHS is a national honorary for those who demonstrate excellence in practicing patient-centered medical care through integrity, compassion, altruism, respect and empathy. Members are selected as third-year medical students. Residents, faculty and administrators may also be recognized for humanistic practice at various stages in their careers.

Members are nominated by their peers and selected by a committee composed of faculty, staff, clerkship directors and GHHS members. New inductees to the Marshall chapter include:


  • Kara Anderson
  • Hannah Leport
  • Jett MacPherson
  • Drake Seccurro
  • Amy Smith
  • Samantha Smith
  • Allison Thompson
  • Sam Wood

Resident Physicians:

  • Rodrigo Aguilar, M.D. (Internal Medicine)
  • Tamara Murphy, M.D. (Psychiatry)
  • Jenna Richards, D.O. (Pediatrics)
  • Andrew Venardi, M.D. (Surgery)


  • Kara Willenburg, M.D. (Internal Medicine)
  • Ashley Zawodniak, D.O. (Internal Medicine)

GHHS is an international initiative of the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, a public, not-for-profit organization established in 1988 by Drs. Arnold and Sandra Gold, several colleagues at the Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons, and community leaders.


Photo Caption:  New Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) inductees at the Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine recite the GHHS oath March 11, during a ceremony at the Marshall University Memorial Student Center. 

Date Posted: Tuesday, March 17, 2020