Thorpe and Carroll named May Residents of the Month

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. – Anthony Thorpe, D.O., and Ryan Carroll, M.D., have been named May Residents of the Month (ROM), announced Paulette S. Wehner, M.D., vice dean of graduate medical education at the Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine. This is the first time during the ROM program’s five and a half year history that two internal medicine department chief residents have been selected.

“Leaders are defined by how they handle adverse situations,” said Eva Patton-Tackett, M.D., director of the internal medicine residency program. “Drs. Thorpe and Carroll have provided extraordinary leadership during this pandemic and throughout the entire year.”

Kara S. Willenburg, M.D., Marshall Health’s chief of infectious disease, nominated the two chief residents. “Both have been essential in disseminating information from Mountain Health Network meetings to departments, hospital teams and clinic teams,” Willenburg said.  

Chief Residents are peer-selected to serve during their third and final year of internal medicine residency training.

“It’s not always easy to be a chief resident will 65 trainees,” said Stephen Roy, M.D., associate program director, who also nominated Thorpe and Carroll. “Anthony and Ryan have done a stellar job and helped keep the program running smoothly.”

Thorpe earned his undergraduate degree from Alderson Broaddus College and his medical degree from West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine. After graduation in June, Thorpe will return to his hometown of Parkersburg, West Virginia, to become a hospitalist at Camden Clark Medical Center.

Carroll, a native of Proctorville, Ohio, earned his undergraduate and medical school degrees from Marshall University. He plans to enter an infectious disease fellowship at University of Alabama- Birmingham and eventually work at a teaching hospital.


Date Posted: Tuesday, May 19, 2020