School of Medicine announces Senior Award Recipients

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. – Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine is pleased to announce this year’s award recipients from its graduating class. Student award recipients were selected by faculty, staff and their peers for academic achievement and community service as well as other criteria.

Due to social distancing requirements, the School of Medicine was unable to honor the contributions and achievements of the Class of 2020 with the traditional, in-person award senior award ceremony during the week of graduation. Those recognized include:

  • Bertha and Lake Polan Award: Andrea B. Hart
  • McCorkle Family Scholarship: Alexandrine Ratnani
  • School of Medicine Alumni Association Recognition Award Faculty Choice Award: Alexandrine Ratnani
  • Peer Choice Award: Dakota T. May
  • The Diversity and Inclusion Excellence Student Service Awards: Lee E. Mendenhall, Alexandrine Ratnani, Zachary R. Robateau, Preeya T. Shah
  • Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Awards: Preeya T. Shah and Suzanne Holroyd, M.D., Chair and Professor of Psychiatry
  • Honors in Community Service Awards: Anthony G. Abadir, Jasmyn E. Atalla, Allyson L. Bias, Lloyd D. Border, Gabriella P. Casinelli, Seth J. Deskins, Andrea B. Hart, Will T. Lester, Dakota T. May, Marjorie G. McCoy, Tyler C. Miller, Julia E. Poe, Jordan L. Preston, Luke Prudich, Jamila I. Ranavaya, Alexandrine Ratnani, Katie E. Rollins, Preeya T. Shah, Jordan L. Tate
  • Thomas G. Folsom Pediatrics Award: Anna C. Wood
  • Maurice A. and Diane W. Mufson Internal Medicine Award: Joseph T. Simmons
  • Lloyd F. Zacharias Obstetrics and Gynecology Award: Meghan A. Anderson
  • Department of Orthopedic Surgery Faculty Recognition Award: James C. Gainer
  • Department of Surgery Cutting Edge Award in Honor of Dr. Homer Cummings: Reagan M. Stafford
  • Gary M. Tolley Excellence in Imaging Radiology Award: Lloyd D. Border
  • Mildred Mitchell-Bateman Psychiatry Award: Lee E. Mendenhall
  • Department of Neurology Student of the Year Award: Rebecca L. Barnes
  • Department of Neurosurgery Student of the Year Award: Shane T. Musick
  • Robert B. Walker Family Medicine Award: Tyler W. Freeman
  • David K. Heydinger Family Medicine Award: Anne A. Jarrell
  • American College of Emergency Physicians Award: Corey S. Moore
  • Alpha Omega Alpha Beta Chapter of West Virginia, Class of 2020 Inductees: Lloyd D. Border, Seth J. Deskins, Andrea B. Hart, Gregory S. Hill, Preeya Tushar Shah, Joseph T. Simmons
  • American Medical Women’s Association Glascow-Rubin Citations for Academic Achievement: Andrea B. Hart and Preeya T. Shah
  • Gold Humanism Honor Society Members: Gabriella P. Casinelli, Evan J. Childers, James C. Gainer, Dakota T. May, Marjorie G. McCoy, Lee E. Mendenhall, Alexandrine Ratnani, Preeya T. Shah, Wesley J. Wright

Descriptions of many of these awards may be found at

Also honored are individuals, selected by the graduating students, who had a significant impact on their educational experience at Marshall.

  • Outstanding Mentorship & Teaching Award: Eva D. Patton-Tackett, M.D., Department of Internal Medicine
  • Made Me a Better Doctor: Jay R. Lakhani, M.D., Class of 2007, Department of Pediatrics
  • Best Department Coordinator: Brittani K. Ruiz, Clerkship Coordinator, Department of Internal Medicine
  • The Matchmaker: Amy Smith, M.Ed., Associate Dean, Office of Student Affairs

Please join us in congratulating this year’s honorees.


Media Contact: Sheanna M. Spence, Director of External Affairs, School of Medicine, 304-691-1639

Date Posted: Thursday, May 28, 2020