Marshall University residency administrators earn national certification

Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Contact: Sheanna M. Spence, Director of External Affairs, School of Medicine, 304-691-1639

Marshall University residency administrators earn national certification

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. – Vicky Blackshire and Missy Clagg-Morrison, residency program administrators at the Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine, recently earned the Training Administrators of Graduate Medical Education (TAGME) certification from the National Board for Certification.

TAGME certification includes a comprehensive two-part exam. Certification and ongoing professional development deepen knowledge, skills and abilities of training administrators of graduate medical education programs.

Blackshire began working in the family medicine department in 1995 and has coordinated the family medicine residency program at Marshall since 2016. A graduate of Marshall Community & Technical College, she worked at local hospitals prior to coming back to Marshall’s School of Medicine. She currently oversees 24 very busy family medicine residents and provides support to four school of medicine faculty members.

Clagg-Morrison joined the department of psychiatry & behavioral medicine in 2013 as education coordinator. She coordinates the psychiatry medical student clerkships and the psychiatry residency program at Marshall as well as the school’s two new fellowship programs in geriatric psychiatry and child and adolescent psychiatry. A native of Huntington and Marshall alumna, Clagg-Morrison serves on the board of directors at Harmony House and has received numerous awards for her volunteer efforts on behalf of the local homeless and addictions recovery communities. She is an elected member of the Marshall University classified staff council and chairs the council’s staff development & service committee.

Blackshire and Clagg-Morrison join five other TAGME-certified specialists at Marshall School of Medicine—Cindy Dailey, Nancy Floyd, Amanda Jones, Marty Poe and Jo Ann Raines.


Date Posted: Tuesday, January 22, 2019