School of Medicine marks annual commencement week with several activities

UPDATE: For a first look at photos from commencement, visit:   Additional photos will be added as they are processed. 
You may also visit for a look-back at the event's livestream. 

Friday, April 22, 2016
Contact: Leah C. Payne, Public Affairs Director, Schools of Medicine & Pharmacy, 304-691-1713
Sheanna M. Spence, Assistant Director, Alumni Affairs & Community Relations, 304-691-1639

School of Medicine marks annual commencement week with several activities

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. – The Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine will award 61 Doctor of Medicine degrees at the school’s annual investiture ceremony at 5 p.m. Friday, May 6, at the Keith-Albee Performing Arts Center. Admission is by invitation only.

The doctoral investiture and medical school commencement ceremony is a time-honored tradition in academia that honors scholarly achievement. The School of Medicine ceremony features the conferring of the students’ degrees by Marshall University President Jerome A. Gilbert, Ph.D.; the hooding of new graduates; and recitation of The Oath of Hippocrates.

This year’s special guest speaker for the investiture is Myron E. “Max” Essex, D.V.M., Ph.D., chair of the Harvard AIDS Initiative (HAI), the Mary Woodard Lasker Professor of Health Sciences at Harvard University, and chair of the Botswana Harvard AIDS Institute Partnership (BHP).

As one of the world’s leading AIDS researchers, Essex has published more than 600 scholarly papers, edited 12 books and trained 35 doctoral research students and 80 postdoctoral fellows. Essex has received nine honorary degrees and countless awards. He will be awarded an honorary Doctor of Science degree at the Marshall ceremony.

Graduates of the Class of 2016 include five students who have maintained perfect 4.0 GPAs during their medical school years. This class features students who have matched into highly competitive residency specialties, like orthopaedics, emergency medicine, radiology, ophthalmology, urology, as well as students paired into prestigious primary care programs across the country.

The investiture will be streamed live at The ceremony also includes recognition of graduates from Marshall’s Biomedical Sciences program and the announcement of the School of Medicine Alumni Association’s Honorary Alumnus for 2016.


Date Posted: Friday, April 22, 2016