Four faculty and staff members to be honored for achievements in areas of social action

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. – Four Marshall University faculty and staff members, Layton Cottrill, Cedric Gathings, Dr. Bobby Miller and Dr. Joseph Shapiro, will be among those honored for achievements in social action in West Virginia. 

The recognition will take place Saturday, March 24, at West Virginia State University in Institute. 

Cottrill serves as the university’s general counsel, Gathings is the vice president of student affairs, Miller is vice dean for medical education for the Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine and Shapiro is dean of the School of Medicine. 

The Charleston-Institute Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. will sponsor the event, “Changing the Conversation,” to celebrate social action. The program, which is being held in commemoration of the sorority’s founders, will begin at 10 a.m. in the University Union. 

“We are pleased to recognize these Marshall individuals for their efforts to better our communities,” said Terri Berkley, president of the Charleston-Institute chapter. “This year was are honoring a total of 13 individuals to celebrate 1913, the year our organization was founded.” 

This is the third consecutive year Marshall employees have been chosen for the award. Previous honorees have included representatives of Marshall University as well as its schools of medicine and pharmacy. 

Tickets are available for $35 each by contacting Betty Cardwell-Spencer at (304) 541-2386. 


Date Posted: Tuesday, March 20, 2018