School of Medicine announces appointment of chairman

Thursday, July 31, 2014
Leah C. Payne, Director of Public Affairs, Schools of Medicine & Pharmacy, 304-691-1713


Marshall University School of Medicine
announces appointment of new department chairman
Dr. Charles L. Yarbrough to lead newly formed department of dermatology


2014-07-31 Yarbrough HUNTINGTON, W.Va. – Dr. Charles L. Yarbrough, a longtime Huntington dermatologist, has  been named inaugural chairman of the newly formed department of dermatology at the  Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine.  

 In making the announcement, Dr. Joseph I. Shapiro, dean of the School of Medicine, said the  addition of Yarbrough to the medical school faculty is another step in the school’s expansion of  its medical education and clinical offerings.

 “It’s imperative that Marshall continue to build and nurture its infrastructure in order to ensure  we are providing the best medical education possible,” Shapiro said.  “I am pleased to welcome Charles Yarbrough and am confident that under his leadership our new department of dermatology will flourish clinically, educationally and in the research arena.”

Yarbrough graduated from the Medical College of Virginia and completed a residency in dermatology at Emory University.   He is board-certified in dermatology by the American Academy of Dermatology and also is board-certified by the American Boards of Pathology and Dermatology in Dermatopathology.Yarbrough has served as a clinical professor at Marshall since 1977.

“I am humbled and honored to accept this appointment and would like to thank all who advocated on my behalf,” Yarbrough said.  “I will promote excellence in patient care through education, research and access to the health care system.”

 Yarbrough currently serves as secretary/treasurer of the board of directors for Doctors Care of Cabell County, Inc., an organization he co-founded in 1990, that serves to fill in the gap to access to medical care for people in need by providing health care referral and access. 

He also is a clinical professor with the School of Medicine’s department of pathology.

Yarbrough is a member of the West Virginia Dermatological Society, the American Society of Dermatopathologists and the American Academy of Dermatology.

He will continue to see patients at his office located at 1934 11th Ave. in Huntington. 

His appointment is effective Aug. 1.





Date Posted: Friday, August 1, 2014