COVID-19: Keeping Campus Safe.

Marshall School of Medicine faculty member elected to national post

Wednesday, July 9, 2014
: Leah C. Payne, Director of Public Affairs, Schools of Medicine and Pharmacy, 304-691-1713


Marshall School of Medicine faculty member elected to national post
Darshana Shah, Ph.D. to lead committee in 2015-2016 academic year

 Shah_ Darshana_hs.jpgHUNTINGTON, W.Va.—Dr. Darshana Shah, associate dean for faculty affairs and professional development at the Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine, is the new chair-elect of the  Association of American Medical College’s Group on Faculty Affairs (GFA) Steering Committee.

The mission of the GFA is to build and sustain faculty vitality in medical schools and teaching hospitals. 

“I feel honored and privileged to have been elected to this post, “Shah said.  “GFA professionals feel a great responsibility to prepare our faculty to meet the challenges of the 21st century.  My training as a biomedical scientist, and experiences in the medical education and professional development arenas, will serve the GFA well during this time of educational and health care reform.”

Dr. Joseph I. Shapiro, dean of the School of Medicine, congratulated Shah on her election to the national post, which includes committee members from schools across the country.

“This is an important and prestigious position which reflects well on Dr. Shah and the entire Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine,” Shapiro said.  “We are extremely pleased and proud that she will take on this new responsibility.”

Shah currently serves as chairwoman of the GFA annual conference program planning committee. This year’s conference will take place next week in Boston.

Shah is a professor and chief of the pathology academic section, department of pathology and has been with the School of Medicine since 1997.



Date Posted: Tuesday, July 8, 2014