SOM Alumni honored by University Alumni Association


Contact:Leah Payne, Director of Public Affairs, 304-691-1713


School of Medicine Alumni among individuals honored at awards banquet 

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. – Three School of Medicine graduates were among those honored at the Marshall University Alumni Association’s 77th annual Alumni Awards Banquet, sponsored by Ohio Valley Bank, last weekend. Below is a list of those who were honored. 

  Distinguished Alumnus Award – Eric R. George, M.D. 

Dr. Eric R. George is a hand surgeon practicing medicine in Louisiana. A native of Huntington and a graduate of Huntington East High School, he received his medical degree from Marshall. He completed General Trauma Surgery Residency at Michigan State University, then completed a fellowship in Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery at Grand Rapids Area Medical Education Center in Grand Rapids, Mich. George currently is Clinical Assistant Professor in the Department of Surgery at Tulane University School of Medicine in New Orleans, La., and adjunct assist professor of orthopaedics in the Department of Orthopaedics at Tulane. His practice, the Hand Center of Louisiana, is a state-of-the-art facility which treats NFL players and key players in the oil and gas industries, among other businesses, and is the largest in the Gulf South region. He owns a luxury hospital, the Omega Hospital, and several ambulatory surgery centers, urgent care clinics, and assisted living centers.


He earned his undergraduate degree – a bachelor of science in chemistry – in 1985, and graduated from MU’s School of Medicine in 1989. His success has not come easily. At Marshall, he was diagnosed with dyslexia, and reading at barely a high school level. Dr. Pat Brown, associate dean of academic and student affairs, said, “Still, he was getting C’s where others were failing. I caught a glimpse of what must be phenomenal intelligence.” George still calls Huntington home. “We still like to get a Stewart’s hot dog, a Tudor’s biscuit and go to a Marshall game,” he said. Last year, a Marshall University Society of Yeager Scholarship was provided by George in memory of his late brother, Aaron C. George, a fighter pilot who was killed in a crash. Through his philanthropic endeavors, Eric George is major contributor to many causes including the St. Martin’s Episcopal School George Cottage, for early education of pre-school children in New Orleans, La., and through his children’s foundation. Chloe and Cassidy George developed a school for orphans in Mombasa, Kenya.


Carolyn Hunter Faculty Service Award – Adam M. Franks, M.D.

 Adam M. Franks is an associate professor in the Department of Family and Community Health at the Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine.  A 1994 graduate of the Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine, Dr. Franks completed a residency in family medicine at Marshall and a fellowship in advanced maternal care (surgical obstetrics) at the University of Tennessee-Memphis.   Since joining the faculty at Marshall in 2001, Franks has provided comprehensive primary care at Marshall Family Medicine in Lavalette in Wayne County.  In his nomination letter for the Carolyn B. Hunter-Distinguished Faculty Award,  Dr. Stephen Petrany, chairman of the department, described Franks as a dedicated physician, outstanding scholar and committed community volunteer. Franks has served as an assistant scoutmaster and medical officer for the Tri-State Area Boy Scout Council, is an active member and Elder at  Highlawn Presbyterian Church and a volunteer coach for the Wayne County Youth Soccer League.



Marshall University School of Medicine – R. Mark Hatfield, O.D., M.D. 

 R. Mark Hatfield, O.D., M.D., F.A.C.S., is founder and managing member of Retina Consultants, PLLC, in Charleston.   After earning a doctor of optometry degree from Illinois College of Optometry, he received his M.D. degree from the Marshall University School of Medicine in 1983.  He completed a surgical internship at Marshall, an ophthalmology residency at the University of Illinois School of Medicine, and a vitreoretinal fellowship at Rush Presbyterian St. Luke’s in Chicago.  Hatfield has been honored with numerous awards over his career including Outstanding Student Awards in 1980 and 1981 and was elected to membership in the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Society while at Marshall.   Last year, he received the Illinois Eye and Ear Infirmary Distinguished Alumnus Award and was named by the Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine Alumni Association as the 2013 Distinguished Alumnus.  


In addition to his medical practice, Hatfield is a busy lecturer who has presented at a number of professional meetings, including ones sponsored by the Centers for Disease Control, the West Virginia Optometric Association and the West Virginia Academy of Ophthalmology.   He is a generous supporter of Marshall University and the Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine.  A native of Logan, Hatfield is married to the former Monica Wilton, former chair of the Marshall Foundation and a two-time Marshall graduate. They are the parents of three adult children.



 Cutline:  Linda Holmes, director of development and alumni affairs is joined by award winners Dr. Eric George and Dr. R. Mark Hatfield.   Dr. Franks is not pictured. 

Date Posted: Friday, May 2, 2014