School of Medicine announces 2013 student members of national honor medical society

20130826 AOA

Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine today announced that seven fourth-year students have been selected to the Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) Honor Medical Society. The students are:

  • Stephen Cole
  • Jill A. Goodwin
  • Rebecca “Becca” Hayes
  • Corey A. Keeton
  • Amanda K. Schmitt
  • Lacey M.Vence
  • Doug C. vonAllmen

AOA is a professional medical organization that recognizes and advocates for excellence in scholarship and the highest ideals in the profession of medicine. Values include honesty, honorable conduct, morality, virtue, unselfishness, ethical ideals, dedication to serving others, and leadership.

The top 25 percent of a medical school class is eligible for nomination to the society, and up to 16 percent may be elected based on leadership, character, community service, and professionalism.

More than fifty Nobel Prize winners in Physiology or Medicine, and in Chemistry, have been AOA members. More than thirty of those were elected to AOA prior to winning the Nobel Prize.

Date Posted: Friday, August 23, 2013