COVID-19: Keeping Campus Safe.

New advisory board created at School of Medicine

20130424 Advisoryboard

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. – Dr. Joseph I. Shapiro, dean of the Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine, today announced the creation of a new advisory board which will provide recommendations to the dean’s office on matters of strategic development, community interests and fundraising efforts, ultimately advancing the school’s educational mission. 

“In order for our School of Medicine to continue its growth in a healthy and successful trajectory, it’s essential we reach out to our many constituencies, listen to their counsel and respond,” Shapiro said.   “I applaud the efforts of our development and alumni director, Linda Holmes, for putting together a group of dynamic individuals who will certainly help us move forward.” 

The newly formed board will be led by chair Tamela J. White , a former nurse and hospital administrator who has a master’s degree in public health from Johns Hopkins University.  She is also a member and founding attorney with Farrell, White and Legg, a legal firm in Huntington. 

Dr. Mark F. Sheridan, a 1987 graduate of the SOM, former SOM Alumni Association president and a local physician in private practice, has been selected by the board as chair-elect. 

The following people were named to the inaugural dean’s advisory board: 

2-year term

  • Mrs. Sharon N. Ambrose, retired nurse and retired senior vice-president and chief operating officer, St. Mary’s Medical Center; former president of the St. Mary’s Foundation
  • Mr. Steven L. Shattls, executive director and chief executive officer, Valley Health Systems
  • Dr. Omayma T. Touma, retired pediatrician and former director of the Cabell County Health Department
  • Mrs. Joan M. Weisberg, business woman and officer of record for the Arthur and Joan Weisberg Family Foundation, Inc. 

3-year term

  • Dr. Shari J. Clarke, vice president for multicultural affairs, Marshall University
  • Mrs. Monica J.W. Hatfield, MU graduate who attended the SOM before opting for a career as a math teacher; previous chair and board member of the MU Foundation, Inc.
  • Dr. Mark F. Sheridan, (chair-elect), MUSOM Class of 1987, local physician, former SOM Alumni Association president and current board member
  • Dr. Charles E. Turner,  local physician and founding member of the Huntington Internal Medicine Group

4-year term

  • Dr. Joseph P. Assaley, MUSOM Class of 1988, local physician, former SOM Alumni Association president and current board member
  • Dr. Maurice A. Mufson, professor emeritus and first chair of the SOM’s Internal Medicine Department
  • Dr. Dev R. Rellan, local physician with Huntington Internal Medicine Group
  • Ms. Tamela J. White (chair), former nurse and hospital administrator, member and a founding attorney of Farrell, White and Legg 

Ex-Officio Members

  • Dr. Joseph I. Shapiro – dean, School of Medicine
  • Dr. Paulette S. Wehner – president, SOM Alumni Association
  • Ms. Linda S. Holmes – director, Development

The board had its first organizational meeting this month and is expected to meet bi-annually. 

Front row – Linda Holmes, director, development and alumni affairs, Dr. Joseph Shapiro, dean, Tammy White, chair

Back row – Monica Hatfield, Dr. Shari Clarke, Dr. Paulette Wehner, president, SOM Alumni Association, Dr. Maurice Mufson, Dr. Joseph Assaley, Steven Shattls, Dr. Dev Rellan, Dr. Charles  “Skip” Turner.

Not in the picture are Sharon Ambrose, Dr. Mark Sheridan, chair-elect, Dr.  Omayma Touma and Joan Weisberg.

Photo by Leah C. Payne, Marshall University

Date Posted: Wednesday, April 24, 2013