Marshall University School of Medicine recognizes national medical honorary inductees

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. - Ten individuals with the Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine are being inducted into Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA), the nation’s medical honorary.   The inductees include medical students, resident physicians, faculty members and an alumnus, each selected based on academic achievements and contributions to medicine.

“This is a significant honor for everyone,” said Dr. Marie C. Veitia, associate dean of student affairs.  “Scholastic achievement is one of the top criteria for nomination, but other areas, including leadership qualities, ethical standards, and service to school and community also figure prominently in the selection process.” 

The student inductees are as follows:

  • Saqib R. Ahmed,  Class of 2014
  • Zubair A. Ansari, Class of 2014
  • Joshua F. Hendrix, Class of 2014
  • Sammy  Hodroge, Class of 2014
  • Kimberly N. Weaver, Class of 2014

In addition to the students selected for the honor, the following medical residents, faculty and an alumnus are being honored:

  • Farouk H. Abadir, M.D.,  Department of Anesthesiology,  Cabell Huntington Hospital
  • Whitney A. Boggs, M.D., Department of Family Medicine 
  • Felix H. Cheung, M.D. , Department of Orthopaedics
  • Gary D. Cremeans, M.D.,  Class of 1996
  • David D. Francke, M.D. , Department of Internal Medicine

The inductees will be honored at a banquet Thursday, April 18. 

Photos of the inductees are available at:

Date Posted: Monday, April 8, 2013