Institutional Biosafety Committee

The Marshall University Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) was established to ensure a safe working environment for the conduct of biological and biomedical research.  The IBC has been charged with overseeing all research and educational activities which pose a biological hazard. These activities include, but are not limited to, the safe handling and disposal of pathogenic organisms, recombinant DNA (rDNA) and infectious (biohazardous) waste. 

For questions about biosafety, you may contact Don Primerano, IBC Chair, ( or Nathan Douglas, Biological Safety Officer, (