Clinical Research Center

Clinical Research Center

Mission

The Mission of the Clinical Research Center (CRC) is to promote clinical and translational research in order to provide advance care that is currently unavailable for the residents of our Tristate Metro Community (West Virginia, Southern Ohio and Eastern Kentucky).  All of our clinical trials adhere to both our vision as well as the guiding principles (below).  We encourage all residents of the Tristate community to visit the website periodically to discover if any clinical trials may be of interest to them or their family. 

The CRC has been organized as a centralized unit within the Office of Research and Graduate Education at Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine (JCESOM).  The centralized CRC better coordinates and promotes all clinical research at JCESOM.  The primary office consists of the Vice Dean for Research and Graduate Education, Medical Director of the CRC, Director of Clinical Informatics and support staff (all listed below).  The CRC is located in the Charles H. McKown Translational Genomic Research Institute at Marshall University Medical Center in Cabell Huntington Hospital.

Guiding Principles

  • Long-term engagement

    Research Investigators are our long-term partners.  The CRC seeks to build a lasting partnership with all of the researchers at the Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine

  • Mutual Benefit

    The CRC understands the role and pressures of being a primary investigator.  It is our goal to enhance the environment, research and reputation of each of our partners.

  • Professionalism

    The Center staff will work together with humility, candor, and mutual respect for expertise and cultural differences when communicating with researchers and community members.

  • Shared Responsibility

    All partners have obligations towards the patients, the project, the community and each other.

  • Integrity

    All decisions and actions will be based on optimizing best-practices, maintaining data integrity, assuring safety, and upholding the highest standards of medical ethics and scientific quality.

Vision

We will be a world leader in community academic clinical research supporting medical innovation and care in Appalachia. To realize this vision, we will strive to:

  • develop a new standard for scholarship in clinical research.
  • nurture an environment of collaboration, creativity and professional development throughout the Marshall research community.
  • foster a goal-oriented and balanced approach to research.
  • advance effective strategic alliances.
  • provide access to cutting edge healthcare opportunities to the underserved community.

Uma Sundaram, MD

Vice DeanOffice of Research & Graduate Education
Chairman, Department of Clinical & Translational Science
sundaramu@marshall.edu

Amber Deller, RN
Coordinator
(304) 691-1830
dellera@marshall.edu

Robin Ashford, Pharm D
Coordinator
(304) 691-1082
ashford@marshall.edu

Lesly Hollon, APRN, FNP-C 
Coordinator
(304) 691-6817
hollonl@marshall.edu

Scott Wiley, BA
Coordinator
(304) 691-1577
wiley51@marshall.edu

Douglas Melton, LPN, FACHE
Coordinator
(304) 691-8618
meltond@marshall.edu

Linda Morgan, RN
Coordinator
(304) 691-1213
lsmorgan@marshall.edu

Mary Beth Cordle, MS
Quality Officer
(304) 691-1081
cordlem@marshall.edu

Betina Dingess
Administrative Assistant
(304) 691-1836
dingessb@marshall.edu

Alexis Damron, RN
Coordinator
(304) 691-6859
damrona@marshall.edu