

Faculty Council Meeting Wednesday, August 23, 2023

Faculty Council Members Present: Andrea Lauffer, MD; Lydia Bogomolnaya, PhD; Piyali Dasgusta, PhD; Ji Bihl, PhD; Bala Palaniappan, PhD; Jennifer Price, PsyD; Lee Van Horn, MD; Michelle Worthy, MD; Jeffery Kim, MD; Samrina Hanif, MD; Amy "Ally" Roy, MD; Patricia Lutz, MD; Beth Emrick, MD; Diane Krutzler, MD; Amit Singh, MD

Others: Richard Egleton, PhD; Christine Gilkerson, MD; Darshana Shah PhD; Mistie Crowder

Approval of Minutes: A motion to approve the minutes of the previous Faculty Council January 2023 meeting was made by Dr. Andrea Lauffer. Dr. Piyali Dasguta carried out the motion. Dr. Beth Emrick seconded the motion. All council members are in favor, the minutes passed.

Topic #1: Dr. Darshana Shah presented an overview of Faculty Council. There are 27 members total. Each department elects the members. The Council is to represent the faculty of the JCESOM operationally and effectively in determining policy and governance issues within the JCESOM except as reserved to the general faculty. The Council is to advise, assist and support all standing and ad hoc committees of the JCESOM in ways that further the formulation and execution of the official policies of the educational mission. These include, but may not be limited to curricula, admissions, faculty and student activities and research.

Topic #2: Dr. Christine Gilkerson presented the Admissions Committee new member recommendations. There are seven members of the admissions committee who will be rolling off or participating on a limited part-time basis. Nine new members were presented which were: Dan Brazeau, PhD; Shannon Browning, MD; Jessica Beurk, MD; James Hayes, MD; Lauren Plymale, JD; Usha Murughiyan, MBBS; Juan Sebastian Coello Proana, MD; Lauren Tufts; and Lee Van Horn, MD. The addition of the members listed above will provide a sufficient number for interviews and meaningful discussion at committee meetings. A motion to approve the proposed members was made by Dr. Andrea Lauffer. Dr. Piyali Dasguta carried out the motion. Dr. Beth Emrick seconded the motion. All council members are in favor and new members approved. We would like to welcome the new member to the Admissions Committee.

Topic #3: Dr. Richard Egleton provided main campus ADHOC committee update on post tenure review process. Post tenure review could potentially impact a significant number of medical school faculty. Dr. Egleton will contact PAC to get on their agenda.

Dismiss/Next Meeting:

The next Faculty Council will be next month at noon.