

Faculty Council Meeting June 21, 2022

# Faculty Council Members Present:

Nick Chongswatdi, MD; Amy Roy, MD; Kristina Melvin, MD; James Day, MD; Chris Risher, PhD; Andrea Lauffer, MD; Nathan Vaughn, MD; SuSu Kapourales MD

## Approval of Minutes:

A Survey Monkey link was sent to the Faculty Council members for approval of the April 2022 meeting minutes. All council members are in favor of the approval of the minutes with none opposed.

## Wellness Committee:

Dr. Charles Francis acting Chair Wellness Committee was not present. Moving forward there will be a need for new Chair in the future. Dr. Nick Chongswatdi suggested having a Wellness Champion be an interim chair of the Wellness Committee. It was suggested that there be one point person for the wellness initiative with support from the wellness committee and chair. Dr. Shah was contacted and suggested the committee make a recommendation for the Wellness Committee to be independent of the Faculty Council and maybe combining the Resident wellness program with this one and involving HR (Human Resources). More information will be provided by Dr. Shah. More discussion on next steps with the Wellness Committee will take place at the next meeting.

## Faculty Council 2022-2023:

Thank you to Dr. Chongswatdi for leading the Faculty Council this year as Chair! Dr. Kristina Melvin will take over at the start of the new academic year, and nominations/elections will be held for the new Chair-Elect. NO one was nominated during the June meeting. Dr. Chongswatdi Dr. Melvin offered that this could be done maybe through email or Survey Monkey and open to self-nomination or appointment by the future Chair.

It was proposed to keep the current schedule for next year and still allowing Zoom to be the main way of meeting.

Mackenzie has reached out to the departments whose representatives have completed their two-year term on the Council, and departments will report their new representatives to the Office for Faculty Advancement by June 6, 2022.

It was announced that Mackenzie has left the University and pursuing another career plan at this time. Her replacement (Eli Cole??) will be starting July 7<sup>th</sup> and will be in contact with the rest of the members.

A Survey Monkey link will be sent for approval of the May 2022 minutes as a quorum was no reached. Thank you to the following Council members who have completed their term on Faculty Council:

- Nalini Santanam, PhD
- N. Andrew Vaughan, MD, MBA

- Soudamani Singh, PhD
- Mohammed AlJasmi, MD
- Murad Kheetan, MD
- J. Ivan Lopez, MD, FAAN, FAHS
- Russel Fry, II, MD
- Farzad Amiri, MD

### Dismiss/Next Meeting:

The next Faculty Council meeting will take place on the 3<sup>rd</sup> Tuesday of July at 5:30pm via Zoom. Approval of the June 2022 minutes will be addressed. The 2022-2023 Faculty Council meeting schedule needs to be formalized (if continuing 3<sup>rd</sup> Thursday of the month at 5:30pm via Zoom). Nominations and Elections for the next Chair-Elect will need to be held at the July meeting. Dr. Chongswatdi said he would stay on hand to help in the transition process if needed.