Marshall University
Joan C. Edwards
School of Medicine
Faculty Council
May 19, 2020

Name	Attendance
Akshay Goel, MD	✓
Alfred Cecchetti, PhD, MSc, MSc IS	✓
Andrew Nato, PhD	✓
Bisher Mustafa, MD	
Casey Patick, MD	
Charles Francis, MD	
Charles Meadows, MD	
Chaundra Maddox, MD	
Christina Hensley, MD	
David Chaffin, Jr., MD, FACOG	
Emine Koc, PhD	
Errington Thompson, MD, FACS, FCCM	✓
Eva Patton-Tackett, MD	
Gary Petty, MD	✓
CHAIR ELECT Hillary Porter, DO	✓
Iheanyichukwu Ogu, MD	
CHAIR Jennifer Gerlach, MD	✓
John Parker Jr., MD	
Melissa Lester, DO	
Nick Chongswatdi, MD	✓
Nicolas Phan, MD	
Niru Nahar, MBBS	
Paul Bown, MD	
Raj Khanna, DMD, MD	
Vikrim Shivkumar, MD	✓
Viorel Raducan, MD	

Dr. Jennifer Gerlach, Chair of the Faculty Council, called the meeting to order at 5:30 PM on Tuesday

May 19, 2020. Dr. Errington Thompson moved to approve the minutes from the April 21, 2020 meeting. All members were in favor, with none opposed.

The present members then touched back regarding who is back on Marshall Health/Joan C. Edwards SOM campus and who are still working remotely. Many faculty members are continuing to utilize telehealth with the goal of slowly increasing the number of in-person patient contact.

Mackenzie is working closely with the Wellness Committee and gave an update on behalf of Dr. Charles Francis. She reported that the committee is meeting weekly to discuss a proposed policy for the wellness initiative. The members part of the committee have pooled various policies from institutions across the country and then are changing them to fit the culture of Marshall University School of Medicine. The committee is utilizing Microsoft Teams in order to collaborate, this has been delayed by the merging of SOM domains to Marshall domains and hopefully will all be resolved soon. The Wellness Committee is next meeting on June 1, 2020, which will allow Dr. Charles Francis to give an update to the Faculty Council at the June council meeting.

Prior to the next council meeting, Mackenzie will send out nominations for Faculty Council Chair-Elect. Please self-nominate or nominate a colleague on the Council to serve as Chair Elect. In this position you will serve as Chair of the Council in the year following your service as Chair Elect. Dr. Jennifer Gerlach will contact departments who have open seats on the Faculty Council

for the 2020-2021 academic year. Mackenzie will follow up with departments to make sure all members are in place for the start of the new year. The next Faculty Council meeting will take place on Tuesday June 16 at 5:30 PM via Zoom.