	Name	Attendance
Marshall School of Medicine	James Denvir, PhD	✓
	Emine Koc, PhD	$\checkmark$
	Melissa Lester, MD	Excused
	Alfred Cecchetti, PhD, MSc, MSc IS	
	Katherine Steele, MD	$\checkmark$
	Matthew Curry, MD	$\checkmark$
Faculty Council Meeting October 24, 2018	Charles Meadows, MD	
	Bisher Mustafa, MD	
	Vikrim Shivkumar, MD	✓
	Jared Brownfield, MD	
	Charles Francis, MD	
	Tom Reinsel, MD	$\checkmark$
	Alysia Browne, MD	
	Jennifer Gerlach, MD	✓
	Jack Stines, MD	
	Hillary Porter, DO	$\checkmark$
MINUTES:	Paul Bown, MD	
	Mtg Date: 10.24.2018	

## Ν

Mtg Date: 10.24.2018

#### ١. Welcome, Introduction

Dr. James Denvir called to order the Faculty Council Meeting at 5:34 PM on Wednesday October 24, 2018. Dr. Denvir moved to approve the September Meeting Minutes, Dr. Jennifer Gerlach second the motion, approval of the minutes passed.

#### Π. Dr. Darshana Shah, PhD (Guest) – Structure of Faculty Council

The council requested Dr. Darshana Shah to speak at the October meeting to inform particularly the newer members the structure and process of the Faculty Council. Dr. Shah made a PowerPoint highlighting the beginning movements of the Faculty Council starting when the current dean of Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine, Joseph I. Shapiro, MD started in 2012. Dr. Shapiro brought the idea of a Faculty Council from his previous school the University of Toledo. After his arrival at MUJCESOM he asked Dr. Shah to help him begin exploring if the school of medicine should implement a Faculty Council. After faculty surveys and discussions, Sona K. Shah, MD became the first chair of the MUJCESOM Faculty Council.

Since 2016 Dr. Shapiro has requested all standing committee recommendates go through Faculty Council before he will indorse it. In these changes, the Faculty Council would oversee any proposed changes from the standing committees that would affect the faculty and students of the school of medicine. A standing committee would bring the proposed by-law changes to the Faculty Council, who would discuss and vote on these changes. If the council approves the changes, they would then go to the dean for final approval and implementation.

## III. Admission Committee Proposed By-Law Changes

The Admission Committee presented proposed by-law changes to the Faculty Council that need approval in order to move to a full faculty vote. Mackenzie emailed the proposed by-law changes to the council on Friday October 19 for them to review before the meeting on the 25<sup>th</sup>. Dr. James Denvir moved to approve the Admission Committee changes pending the faculty council structure and role is added to the by-laws. The Faculty Council denied this motion.

Dr. Matthew Curry and Dr. Katherine Steele voiced concerns regarding the unranked waitlist for admission to the medical school, and questioned why that statement needed to be a part of the by-laws. Dr. Emine Koc second the concerns of the unranked waitlist. After Dr. Koc read the proposed by-law changes, she is concerned that these changes could affect well-qualified individuals passed over by the Admissions Committee and under qualified individual's acceptance. The Faculty Council has requested the Chair of the Admissions Committee, who is currently Charles W. Clements II, MD to attend the next Faculty Council meeting to inform the council on the proposed changes and general structure of admissions.

# IV. Proposed By-Laws Regarding Faculty Council

The Council is to review the document on their own in the next few days. Mackenzie will send out an email at the end of the week (October 26) to begin an email thread of discussion regarding the Council By-Laws, followed by a potential vote through email or the vote will take place at the November meeting.

## V. Wellness Champions

The following are the nominated Wellness Champions for their designated department:

Paul Imoudu Okhumale, MD – Cardiology

Tom Reinsel, MD – Orthopaedics

Marie Veitia, PhD – Psychiatry

Sean Loudin, MD – Pediatrics

Dominika Lozowska, MD, BSc – Neurology

The remaining departments will present their Wellness Champion at the next Faculty Council meeting.

### VI. Adjourn, Final Remarks

Please share the name of the Wellness Champion for your department (if you have not already) at the next meeting.

Dr. Denvir adjourned the meeting at 6:30 PM.