Faculty Council Meeting Wednesday, June 3, 2015 SOM Conference Room

Members Present: James Denvir, PhD (Biochemistry & Microbiology); Adam Franks, MD (Family Medicine); Todd Green, PhD (Pharmacology & Physiology); Patricia Kelly, MD – Chair (Pediatrics); Deji Olajide, MD (Internal Medicine);

Members Absent: : Bonnie Beaver, MD (Surgery); Krista Denning, MD (Anatomy & Pathology); ; Rameez Sayyed, MD (Cardiovascular Services); Charles Meadows, MD (Internal Medicine); Zeid Khitan, MD (Internal Medicine); Brenda Mitchell, MD (OBGYN); Audra Pritt, MD (Pediatrics); Dustin Robinson, MD (Surgery); Alan Koester, MD (Orthopedics); Kathy O'Hanlon, MD (Family Medicine); Sona Shah, MD (Neuroscience); [Marie Veitia, MD (Psychiatry): Leave of absence]

AGENDA

Old Issues/Action Items

April 14, 2015 Meeting Minutes

- Approved by email poll
- Posted on website
- Copies available at June meeting

Letters were sent to Department Chairs

- Term expirations
- Elections
- Expectations for Representatives

Electronic vote/poll opportunity was posted

See new business

New Business:

Faculty Vitality Survey

A draft report of selected findings was presented at the April 14th meeting (Adenrele Olajide, MD – Chair of subgroup; Sona Shah, MD; Pat Kelly, MD.) Discussion included definition of Vitality, the survey tool, and polled findings. An article that was published in *Academic Medicine* (February 16, 2015): Faculty Vitality – Surviving the Challenges Facing Academic Health Centers. A National Survey of Medical Faculty (Pololi LH, Evans AT, Civian JT, et al) was also discussed. The 8 Members of the Council present at that meeting voted to accept the report. The opportunity to electronically vote added one yes vote and one voter abstained/skipped. An electronic notice of acceptance of the report, a copy of the report with minor edits and copies of referenced articles from Academic Medicine will be sent to members of the Council and forwarded to Dean Shapiro and Dr. Darshana Shah.

Amendments to the Faculty Council Structure Document: Affirmed

- The Faculty Council will consist of at least 1 elected representative per department; 1 representative for every 20 25 full time faculty members— This was the ratio used to establish the Faculty Council its absence from the document was an oversight and will be added to the document with the addition of with a limit of 3 representatives per department
- Faculty Council representatives shall serve a term of 2 years and no more than 2 consecutive terms This also was an oversight omission and will be added to the document; there is an exception to serve as Chair.

- The Faculty Council will also include 1 at large faculty member elected by the basic science faculty. The Faculty Council will oversee and conduct the election of this at large member electronically.
- The Faculty Council maximum membership should not exceed 25 members; the ratio for representatives per department will be readjusted when membership exceeds 25.

The JCESOM Academy of Medical Educators: Draft Proposal from Dr. Shah

The proposal was reviewed/discussed at the meeting and comments forwarded to Dr. Shah.

Letters of Participation: Recommended

- Council members attending > 50% of meetings
- Also acknowledges sub group participation

Action items

- Affirmed Amendments to the Faculty Council Structure to be posted.
- Faculty Vitality Review Report: An electronic letter of acceptance inclusive of a copy of the report
 with minor edits and copies of referenced articles from Academic Medicine to be sent to members
 of the Council and forwarded to Dean Shapiro and Dr. Darshana Shah.
- Letters of Participation to be sent.
- Results of Department elections for 2015-2016 should be available in July.
- At large basic Science representative election to be conducted after Departmental results are finalized.

Subsequent meeting: September 2015. The exact date will be determined by a poll sent to the Council members.